• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Signed but no Job

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Signed but no Job

What is my legal position?

I work as a contract via my own limited company and got a contract via an agency.

I accepted the contract for a company.

I signed the contract but now the job has been postponed indefinably.
    (I even got a email directly from the company informing me of this; first for a few days and then indefinably)

Can I sue the company or agency?

Rgds

You can always sue if you want to. Whether you've got any chance depends on what your contract says (& how good your lawyers are).

The contracts I tend to work on usually say I can charge based on work done, and when no work's required by the customer I can work for other customers, so I'd find it hard to sue for loss of revenue.

Comment

You could sue either, but you won't win.

Chalk it up to experience, and look for more work.

I've often wondered about putting something in the contract that says something like "In the event of the contractor not starting the contract, through action by the client or agency, a fee of £XXX shall be payable from the agency to the contractor". Can't see any agency signing up to that, though.
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Indefinably?

If the contract says there's a notice period, then you ought to be entitled to that. Otherwise forget it, move on.