• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 rubbish....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 rubbish....

sorry just frustrated.

I'm new to the contracting market, well, exactly 1 year almost. All I have been doing is working (on not such a great pay but still either way) and have an accountant to do the taxes and what not. thats what im doing. In one contract, almost into the next...paying taxes on time, pretty much on the same day as I get my "bill" from the accountant.

Just been assessed for IR35 and there are like 3 stages the accountant does it in Green, Amber, Red.

and im in Amber....and should pay out for the "safety" costs. Still have the end of year tax to pay and no idea how much that is.

it just doesnt make sense, im pretty worried. ive not established any out of work arrangements or anything of the sort. always been following the contract and what not, surely I should be in green? But apperently not!

makes no sense. you follow the rules...yet you get caught (or almost caught).
    Last edited by Contractor UK; 7 October 2011, 12:16.

These days there are many thousands of folk just like you. Unfortunately that's the way it is these days IMO. Nobody knows for sure exactly how much tax they legally have to pay with 100% certainty.
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment

What he said - welcome to the frustrating to be in business world of today

Comment