• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming a laptop as a business expense under Parasol

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming a laptop as a business expense under Parasol

Hi there!

I am a new contractor, and I'm just getting to know how the things work with it, so please be gentle.

I am using Parasol as my umbrella company. I am planning to get a laptop (700GBP) and claim it as a business expense.

My questions are:

1) If the laptop costs 700GBP, how much would I be really able to save on it by claiming it as a business expense (I know that nobody can give me the exact number, but the rough worst case scenario estimate would do also)? Can you roughly explain to me how all this works? I am planning to stay with Parasol until late August, as I will continue my education in September.

2) I am planning to use it for training with the new software/operating systems/etc - is that a sufficient reason to claim it as an expense?

I am kindly looking to your reply! Thank you for your help with better understanding the business expenses laws!

Chris

You have asked Parasol, haven't you? What do they say?
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Unless you're planning on giving your laptop back to Parasol when you leave I very much doubt you can claim any of it as an expense.
      ǝןqqıʍ

Comment