• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New laptop time

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New laptop time

Hello!!

So its laptop time again. This one is managing to annoy me, as I've been using it while working abroad for the last 2 months, and its not good enough for 100% use.

Any recomendations?

Need to be able to develop on it (although will mainly develop on my desktop still), visual studio/commerce server/moss.
    Big resolution would be nice, needs to be semi portable, so 14/15 inch. Will upgrade to 4gb of ram even if it hasn't got it, 7200rpm hard disk.

Thinking Lenovo T61 as its got massive res. but abit pricey. any thing else to have a look at?

Cheers

I have a 12 month old AMD powered ACER Aspire laptop 15.4 wide screen that I've just upgraded to 4Gb memory and I'll get another year out of it now, I think. A good machine, very reliable running XP Pro SP2.
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment

Originally posted by Mehmeh View Post
      Hello!!

So its laptop time again. This one is managing to annoy me, as I've been using it while working abroad for the last 2 months, and its not good enough for 100% use.

Any recomendations?

Need to be able to develop on it (although will mainly develop on my desktop still), visual studio/commerce server/moss.
      Big resolution would be nice, needs to be semi portable, so 14/15 inch. Will upgrade to 4gb of ram even if it hasn't got it, 7200rpm hard disk.