• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Anyone do any really short term contracts?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello,

Few weeks ago i finished my long term perm job to concentrate on my Ltd Co which i've been running in my spare time for the past 12 months. I've been getting odds and sods of work in (asp 'n .net dev, web design, and a bit of network troubleshooting) but nothing sufficient to pay the mortgage and keep the missus in shoes. Basically i've found the grass aint greener on the other side. I'm confident it'll get better over time when i've got a few reliable clients under my belt but i've probably got a couple of months breathing space until the savings i'd put aside for startup are exhausted.

I'd planned to have nothing to do with agencies if i could at all help it and source my own clients through local advertising and getting in touch with old contacts, but basically i need another source of work to get the business properly off the ground - and using agencies is the only way that springs to mind.

Does anyone know if agencies ever offer very short term or part time contracts? I'm talking days and weeks rather than months, i have obligations to the few clients i already have and so could not take on a full time or long term contract (> 1 month). The few agencies i've spoke to only seem to offer 6-12 month full-timers or permanent vacancies. Do i need to be looking in a particular place for the type of job i'm after? or is anyone aware of any agencies that do this sort of thing?

Ta