• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self Assessment - Travel and Accommodation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self Assessment - Travel and Accommodation

Hello. I'm filling in my tax return for the first time (online) and have a couple of questions.

I worked as a contractor web designer in London for 6 weeks (usually live in Sheffield) and was wondering whether I should/can tell them about the house I rented for 6 weeks and the daily train costs to get to work?

If yes, which pages/fields should I add this to?

Thanks,
    R

They should not be taxable. Usually declared twice, once as benefits received and once as expenses to do the job so they cancel out. Having said that, I have started mine and haven't seen the latter. It must be there somewhere or perhaps on rereading the one entry they have combined it. Check the supplied calcs anyway to be sure.
    bloggoth

If everything isn't black and white, I say, 'Why the hell not?'
    John Wayne (My guru, not to be confused with my beloved prophet Jeremy Clarkson)

Comment

Thanks for the reply, but I think I'm a bit slow here and maybe I didn't explain myself too well. Accommodation wise, I left my flat in Sheffield unoccupied and paid the mortgage, then I paid a landlord rent to stay in London. Therefore I was paying two lots of accommodation but only staying in one.