• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting as a Contractor: any horror stories?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting as a Contractor: any horror stories?

I'm pretty new to this whole game and only started because of a job I really loved *sighs* and am trying to get to grips with it - money isn't my main motivator, although it's nice to earn more (I get attached to people, like learning things, get bored very easily, am very quick to finish things (NOT good at pacing) but can be very underconfident, which is a mixed kettle of fish).

Do you all feel like you want to contract until retirement? Also, did you dive into it like a fish when you started? (Sorry, too many fish references!) What are your main motivations for being a contractor?

Has anyone else made a hash of it when they first started? I can't share my stories yet, sorry, I am too new to it and they're too new!

So given that although I'm excellent at the work, but feel I have made a few mistakes when I started contracting, does this mean my options would be limited if I wanted to pursue a long term 'career' in it given that the contracting world is quite small?

I can actually hear the gushing!

Let's break this down.
    Originally posted by Sundial View Post
    1. Starting as a Contractor: any horror stories?
    2. Do you all feel like you want to contract until retirement?
    3. Did you dive into it like a fish when you started? (Sorry, too many fish references!)
    4. What are your main motivations for being a contractor?