• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Paid from Germany, working in UK, effective tax scheme?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Paid from Germany, working in UK, effective tax scheme?

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to both this forum and contracting, so forgive me if this has been asked before...
    I'm about to start a new role, based in the UK but paid from an agency in Germany in Euros. Are there any solutions out there that this situation might benefit from? (eg IOM schemes - would this make me less at risk than if I was being paid from the UK?) And is there a neat way to avoid the hefty bank conversion rates if I do just get paid in pounds?

Any advice gratefully received! Thank you!

Originally posted by Greenjack View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to both this forum and contracting, so forgive me if this has been asked before...
    I'm about to start a new role, based in the UK but paid from an agency in Germany in Euros. Are there any solutions out there that this situation might benefit from? (eg IOM schemes - would this make me less at risk than if I was being paid from the UK?) And is there a neat way to avoid the hefty bank conversion rates if I do just get paid in pounds?

Any advice gratefully received! Thank you!