• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can I claim these as expenses?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I claim these as expenses?

I am a contractor with my own Ltd Company. I have had my company for 2.5 years. I changed accountants recently and my new accountants are advising me that I can pay for things like travel to and from my place of work, OU courses related to what I do (computing), entry into conferences etc from the business bank account as long as I keep receipts. I have never done this before as my old accountants didn't mention anything about being able to claim expenses etc. I am also on the flat rate scheme and I was under the impression that as such one of the disadvantages of the flat rate scheme is that I cannot claim expenses.

So, who is right? I obviously want to start paying for things related to the company such as stationary, books and the above mentioned through the company bank account but I don't want a situation where next year I am told that these things cannot be claimed and having to put the money back into the bank account from my own pocket.

Also, are there time limits for expenses, for example my accountant mentioned that I can only claim up to 18 months of travel costs during a contract, after that I put myself into IR35 territory. I don't really understand the rules for all these things so if anyone can explain, please do.

If anyone can advise I would be grateful.

doa,