• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do jobs actually exist?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do jobs actually exist?

Hi Chaps,
    I'm an experienced contractor, some 20+ years of dealing direct with a client, and quite honestly confused with what agencies/employers want.
    My cv, honed after quite a few weeks of tinkering, is damn near perfect, the agencies even agree, but sent off to the employer seem to be lost forever.
    So, I have some questions for the more experienced of you out there:

1) Do jobs actually exist at the moment? I'm looking for BA/Sys analysis/PM roles but I come from a developer background (C#/Java/oracle/unix/legacy etc).
    2) Most of the jobs advertised seem to be banking. Are these the only ones that are real?
    3) Should I cut my losses and give up contracting and go permie....
    4) Is Jobserve nothing more than a conspiracy for agents to get you on their books? Any better sites than this for contractors?
    5) If, as I suspect, employers are just ticking boxes for required skills, what's the best way to stand out without knowing what the employer wants - is it just luck? You can't have a CV that covers everything.
    6) Should I give up agencies and just contact all businesses.

Any help on this would be most welcome.