• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving slowely from permi to contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving slowely from permi to contractor

Hello everyone, my first post, and let me thank you in advance for any assistance/views on this.

Ok here goes - I'm a permi, and still a permi. I have over 16 years IT experience, with the last 10 split over Technical Architect and Infrastructure Team Manager Roles.

I work for a major UK bank that's had huge losses over recent months. I'm very good at my job, and as you can imagine I've lead/designed some pretty big infrastructure projects over the years.

Over the last 12 months the company has started to go down the pan. Decisions are not thought-out and the government keeps sticking it nose in IT matters. And we all know how good the government is with its IT projects.

So the question - This is not the company I joined as a wee lad. I now want out. There's loads of redundancies being offered with pretty big payoffs, but I don't think they'll get round to offering it to our team for another 12 months or so. I don't think I can wait that long; so here's my dilemma.

I don't want to hand in my notice [yet] due to the potential of a redundancy payoff. I could take unpaid leave for up to 6-8 months.

Do you think I could take a contracting job while on unpaid leave? Or do you think I should stick it out?