• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

2 Years at same client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2 Years at same client

I have been working at my current client site for nearly 2 years now (my current contract expires at the 2 year marker)... however I have checked the project plan and seen that there is a fair chance that I am going to be asked to extend.

I understand that when you have been at the same client for 2 years (or know that you are going to be) then you are unable to claim expenses... now this is not good as I have fairly high monthly expenses (rail tickets travel to other sites etc) is there anyway that this implication can be avoided? severing contracts? time off etc?

I would appreciate advice from any of you that have had experience of this

Usual provisos (not legal etc).

There is no real way around this.
    Once you have been at a client site, or know you will be, beyond 2 years then you can not claim expenses.

I suspect that if you were to start up another Ltd. then you might get away with it, but it seems impractical.

You are going to have to walk away, get your rate up to negate the loss or wear it.
    I am not qualified to give the above advice!

The original point and click interface by
    Smith and Wesson.

Step back, have a think and adjust my own own attitude from time to time

Comment