• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First time ltd company - advice?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time ltd company - advice?

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to contracting but have loved it so far and can see myself doing this for a while (unless market goes pear shaped!!).

I started with umbrella company but am not going down my own ltd route. Have set the wheels in motion and have appointed Clearsky as my accountants. I have told them to go with 60:40 split with my other half (she doesn't work). I was told that I didn't need to appoint her as a secretary so assume that I can just employ her on a minimal wage. Can anyone see any issues with this that I should be aware of?

Any other pieces of advice for a first time ltd company director?

I appreciate I'll need to sort out insurance and the like but would appreciate any pearls of wisdom people can share.

Cheers, Mossy

I got a belter!! It's called a search button. It's the font of all our wisdom...
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by mossy View Post
      Hi all,

I'm fairly new to contracting but have loved it so far and can see myself doing this for a while (unless market goes pear shaped!!).