• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited Company Startup Recommendations

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited Company Startup Recommendations

Hi - yet another newbie here, with yet more daft questions that have probably been answered before (I have searched the board, but can't find specific answers...).

I have left the permie world after 12 years, and yesterday got my first contract - apparently that was the easy part, and now I am looking into the complex world of contracting.

I've decided that setting up my own limited company is the way to go so:
    a) please can anyone recommended a company set-up provider (I know I can do it direct through Companies House, but think I've got more than enough to learn without doing that!);
    b) do I need to register for VAT (turnover will be more than £60k)?
    c) had a call from an agency offering to set up and run a company for me, for £29/week - sounds steep to me, but does anyone have any experience of this? (I figured that once I've got through this initial time of establishing the company etc that it would be manageable myself).
    d) this agency mentioned about paying VAT at 12% IR, but charging it at 17.5% to the recruitment agency - hence profiting by 5.5%. Does anyone please know anything about this flat rate VAT?

Sorry for all the questions...!