• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going it alone!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going it alone!

Hi all

I'm currently a permanent staff member for a well established software company. We act as an integration partner for a big US software firm. As such I work as a consultant - doing client implementations and giving training (primarily over the web) to clients around the globe. I am the only one involved in this particular partnership i.e. I'm essentially a one man band.

I've dealt with the manager of the US firm a few times (not all the time) and I believe he is happy with the quality of work being delivered. He has also asked about offering one of their products on a SaaS (Software as a Service) basis but my company dismissed it on the grounds that the rate offered wouldn't make it profitable for us.

The question is:
    Can I approach that manager (via email) and say that I'd like to go out on my own. I could continue to act as a consultant for them (i.e. the US company) and also offer the SaaS approach - financially viable for me if working on my own. Plus I could offer them other services etc that would be more cost effective for them/me.

Advice please?
    Would the fact that I'd be on my own and not within a branded company be a deal-breaker for him - or does he just care about getting quality work done at the best price.
    Would he be a bit perturbed (for whatever reason) on receiving such an email?

Any feed-back appreciated.

Thanks
    Dmitri