• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie question - Application followups the best way?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie question - Application followups the best way?

All

I am looking for some advice...

I am new to the world of contracting...

I have done a lot of research into CV's, contracts, Umbrella v Ltd, spoken with contractor-mates, rates, roles, etc, etc...

After plucking up enough courage to decide to leave the world of permie, I have started to fire off my CV to relevant roles on JobServe.co.uk and CWjobs.co.uk, which seem to be the best sites. Are they though?

I started this process at the beginning of Feb, and to-date I have applied for about 60 roles, and have heard back from less than 10%. Is this a good return?

Am I doing something wrong, not doing something at all?

My application process is:

1. Scan the websites for relevant roles
    2. Apply via websites, with CV but NO covering letter - due to varied role types, I am not sure whether a generic covering letter is better, or a individual cover letter is any good?
    3. Keep my fingers crossed for luck!!
    4. Check my emails for any resonses!

Should I be following these up? Is email or telephone better?

As a test, I applied for 2 x permie roles and have got interviews for both! Makes me thinnk my CV is okay, but is it good enough for contract roles?

Any advice would be welcomed!

Thanks
    Andy

http://forums.contractoruk.com/busin...-feedback.html

http://forums.contractoruk.com/busin...-too-many.html