• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Excel vs Access

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Excel vs Access

Dear Technical people

I'm doing a part-time admin job for a small college with about 200 students, they are about to separate from a larger college and need to set-up their student database. The owner/professor is suggesting an excel spreadsheet (one day they may have up to 600 students) and I wondered if it would be better to set up a simple access db, but I'm not very technical and would be really grateful for any advice you might be able to give.

Cheers
    B

It depends what data they want to store, and how they want to use it. It's very hard to advise without knowing this kind of information, although my gut instinct is a database is the right solution. And before anyone jumps in... MSAccess is quite appropriate for this kind of small setup. I can give more suggestions but will wait to see if they're appropriate rather than deluge you in tech-speak. The only caveat I have is that a DB of any sort is better done by a developer, even Access' visual tools don't really hide the fact databases are not simple to a non-techy.
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Comment

Originally posted by d000hg View Post