• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bad Accountant?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bad Accountant?

I have been contracting since May 2005 and am about to start my 4th contract, 4th place of work. I have nearly always been working away from home and arranged a flatshare.

My accountant says I can't claim any travelling expenses or accomodation. In fact I have claimed virtually zero expenses at all so far. He says I can't claim for the flatshare because it is available weekends. I can't claim mileage because it is my 'normal place of work'.

I am about to start a contract in central london (I live in Cheshire) and I will be spending about £700 of my salary on living there. What can I claim legitimately, and, if it is a grey area, what is the worst that could happen retrospectively?

What can I claim legitimately
    All expenses legitimately incurred directly in connection with your work - that includes fares, food and accomodation. At worst, a proportion of an expense that you could use for non-work purposes (such as Saturday and Sunday rent) could be omitted from the claim, or declared as a BIK, but that is being a little picky.

what is the worst that could happen
    You don't sack your accountant and get one that understand taxation...

retrospectively
    If you have the receipts or other proof of payment, anything from within your current financial year without problems.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment