• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

company refusing to pay contractor after 5 months!!!! help

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

company refusing to pay contractor after 5 months!!!! help

as a contract cleaner i have been supplying staff to a local surgery for 10 years. recently there have been some issues with quality on site with a new team of mine. i have not been informed about any of the problems on site until now and therefore have not had the chance to sort any issues out.
    the surgery have cancelled my contract and are now refusing to pay outstanding accounts going back 5 months.
    is there any law saying that a company cannot complain and refuse to pay after a certain amount of time?

thanks in advance
    Chris

If the service has been provided, they have to pay. Therein lies the dispute - they would say the service hasn't been provided.

At this point, you need to negotiate. You probably won't get the full five months - unless it is an open and shut case and you're prepared to litigate. Start dunning now, if you haven't already, as you must show you've given them opportunity to pay before going legal.

And next time, don't wait five months before wondering why your invoices haven't been paid.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Originally posted by NotAllThere View Post
      If the service has been provided, they have to pay. Therein lies the dispute - they would say the service hasn't been provided.