• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie Perm to contract question...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Perm to contract question...

Hello,

Newbie here please be gentle

I am currently working in a perm position and am considering a roll at a consultancy to go either contract or perm.
    I'm on 41k basic, when I add up other benefits my income is closer to 50k a year.

My motivations for leaving are financial (I'd like to take home 1k more a month) and also be in a more challenging / interesting role.

That equates to either a 60k a year job or 350 contracting a day (inside IR35).

Does the 350 a day sound about right if I want to match 60k a year perm? I’ve read some posts here which suggest 350 a day is equivalent of a lot less so I’m a little confused to be honest.

AngryBunny

[Mod] Have you tried the calculators on this site? http://www.contractoruk.com/calculators/ [/Mod]

As the mod said try the calculations.

I also suggest you read the first timers guides and do a search on this site for threads mentioning the word "bench", then read them.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by SueEllen View Post
      As the mod said try the calculations.

I also suggest you read the first timers guides and do a search on this site for threads mentioning the word "bench", then read them.