• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited company - having 2 directors - Suggestions needed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited company - having 2 directors - Suggestions needed

Hi,

I am new to contracting and doing my home work on how to set up a limited company. My husband is also contracting and we were thinking of setting up one limited company with both of us as directors.

I spoke to a couple of new client advisers and they advice that it's more beneficial if we set up our individual companies because our income would be more than 150,000 pounds per year. Whereas when I speak to one of a friends accountant, he does not see any reason why we should be part of different limited company.

Any ideas/thoughts/suggestions would be welcome. Please do let me know as I am really confused about this.

Thank you.

The £150,000 turnover advice you've been given could be to do with registering for flat rate VAT. If you're both working under the same company and your estimated turnover is over £150,000 in the next year, you can't register for this. If you had separate companies you could.

If you don't have that much turnover between the both of you, I can't see a reason why you can have one company. As an aside, you may have to factor insurance that would cover you both for each of your contracts perhaps if you're under the same limited company.

Comment