• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Overdrawn Directors Loan Account

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overdrawn Directors Loan Account

Hi

I have been an IT contractor for the last 7 years and at the beginning of July I took on a permanent job. I have decided after 3 weeks that it isn't for me and have been offered another contract back where I left.

To the end of my last company year I had an outstanding directors Loan of £9k. This is mainly due to taking more money out of the business than I was entitled to when I was off having my baby. All taxes are up to date and I have a plan personally to pay my corporation tax bill of £5k by January 2012. The plan was to then shut my company down

I would assume that the amount of the Directors loan should equal the outstanding liabilities? I don't understand what I am missing as to why there is a £4k difference (this could quite possibly be my being naive when it comes to taxes & accountancy). I have asked this question of my accountant so will await his reply on Monday but wandered if there was any advice here.

Thanks

Originally posted by lcbjcomc View Post
    Hi

I have been an IT contractor for the last 7 years and at the beginning of July I took on a permanent job. I have decided after 3 weeks that it isn't for me and have been offered another contract back where I left.