• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Worked as IT consultant during Uni, what needs to be declared?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Worked as IT consultant during Uni, what needs to be declared?

I've been a student at University since 07, been doing IT work on the side as a "consultant" getting paid by the hour, and had to invoice them. I've not declared any of it, it's never been more than £2k a year. What should I be doing, I've been reading several threads and hmrc articles but without finding a definite answer. Thanks for any comments. Also ask away if it's not clear enough.

IMO don't declate it - no tax owing and you have not been asked to submit a return.

I hope you have your NI sorted out though....

Comment

If your only income during those years was £2,000 then it's right that no tax would be due, but I'd advise HMRC of it anyway to save yourself any trouble at a later date (on the off chance they discover you via an investigation into your clients). From this year HMRC will impose a penalty for the late filing of a tax return whether tax is due or not.

You'll be exempt from self employed NI as your earnings are below the lower limit.
      ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Ok, so now I fill in the online "Enrol for Self Assessment"? Won't that require a Unique Taxpayer Reference?

Comment

Originally posted by jbs View Post