• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting overseas: need to set up a branch every time?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting overseas: need to set up a branch every time?

According to many people here, whenever there is a contract to be had outside of UK, one should set up as a local business entity, or work through a local umbrella.
    I think it's all FUD, but I'd like to be proven either way.
    Currently not being a lawyer, I think that there are free trade agreements between EU countries that must allow EU businesses to exchange goods and services easily, I do not see why would that not extend to Contractor Ltds as well?
    To get an example: I recently bought some software from an Austrian company , I paid them, but really it's more of a support and maintenance package as the software itself is open source, so really I am paying them for the service, consultancy so to speak.
    Is that any different from a contractor, except usually, contractors go one step further by making themselves available on-site, but that's hardly a differentiator as support for software can also be on-site, likewise some contractors work remotely or part time.

In conclusion, I see no point in advising all the poor chaps to set themselves with intermediaries in those foreign countries, unless:
    a) it's more attractive to them tax-wise
    b) they are moving there for a long period of time
    c) they really are not contractors but disguised permies

Am I right?