• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I am bored!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am bored!!

I have been in my current PMO role 6 months and I am bored stiff. I love the organisation, my contract is on-going and has been extended until next August. The pay is ok considering my background is not in IT but more generic PM support.

My question is how can i get the most out of this? I don't really want to jump ship as IT is definitely better than working on generic projects and I would like to gain some solid experience of more than the current 6 months I have now.

I try to appear motivated but I find myself spending my days stretching out the work I have...I have asked my boss if I can help him but he never gives me anymore work. I often make up work for myself to do. I like to be busy so find this a challenge. What shall I do?

Start your own online business. Grow it while you're working there, then if you ever get put on the bench, fall back income and something to do for the time being .....

Comment

Suck it up and invoice.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Please dont take this the wrong way, as I value PMO, but there is normally soo much more that can be done by PMO to improve reporting, Issues / risks mgt, financial control,, change contrrol, resource mgt, planning etc.

You could make a real mark by taking the initiative and suggesting / making improvements yourself and your boss would absolutely appreciate it!!

Comment