• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

On flat rate VAT scheme but have to invoice EU company (Dublin) - told I'm liable?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

On flat rate VAT scheme but have to invoice EU company (Dublin) - told I'm liable?

Hi there, I'm a UK contractor and I've taken a contract in London direct to the client so there is no agency in the middle. Work will be done at the client's site and in my own office, both in London.

Now the client's company is Dublin based and I'll be invoicing them for payment. Both the client and my accountant say the invoice should not include VAT as there's some EU rule to stop carousel fraud.

The problem is, my accountant says that as I'm on the flat rate VAT scheme I'll still have to declare the income and pay the "flat rate" 14%(?) even though I cannot charge the client VAT. So basically I'm either losing money or telling the client I've got to charge more - very professional. not.

This seems wrong! Very wrong, but my accountant is adamant this is the rule.

Does anyone have experience of this? Can anyone suggest a 100% legal way around it? Coming off the flat rate scheme is possible, but under revenue rules I can't go back on it for 12 months.

Thanks for any assistance,

PB.

Originally posted by PastaBlasta View Post
    Hi there, I'm a UK contractor and I've taken a contract in London direct to the client so there is no agency in the middle. Work will be done at the client's site and in my own office, both in London.