• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract offer retracted, after signing contract. No notice or payments provided!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract offer retracted, after signing contract. No notice or payments provided!

I am a contractor working via my own limited company. I had signed a contract via IT recruitment agency to work for 6 months at a financial firm
    for hundreds of pounds/day +VAT. The client company had "retracted" the offer, AFTER getting my signed agreement with the agency in place. They said it is because my Tier 1 visa expires in 5 months, which is 1 month short of the full contract duration. Unofficially I was told they simply decided to hire someone else that had worked for them before.
    My visa is 100% extendable. Moreover, since then I have actually applied for extension in Mid-October. In any case, the knew all about my status before signing the contract, or must have known! In fact, I have undergone some of the most stringent security and compliance verification.

My starting date as per contract was on particular day in September but the agency told me not to turn up and wait until they resolve some issues, and on Friday before starting date, I had learnt that the client had “retracted” the offer, despite having the signed contract in place!

I had told the agency immediately that if this is correct, I will require termination notice in writing. They said they WILL send me something in writing. But they never have.