• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should you appear desperate for redundancy?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should you appear desperate for redundancy?

First post, read loads, go easy on me!

In a nutshell I'm a 14-year permie veteran and have been thinking about contracting for the last couple of years (having been surrounded by idiots on contracts earning way more than me making fools of themselves) but haven't been in a position to take the plunge due to 0 savings (so no warchest).

I'm now in a position where I *should* be getting redundancy which I'd be ecstatic about but can't believe how HR are dragging their heels.

I've TUPE'd twice so have some decent historic T's &C's, one being no "mobility clause" & second being decent (IMO) redundancy package. Biggest gripe I have is the pay is tulip and has been for some time.

I've had some internal "assignments" offered to me but they're based on working in London 5 days/wk (I'm midlands-based) and they offered me the equivalent of £50/wk "uplift" for this priviledge, oh, plus they wanted me to add the mobility clause to my contract :-O

So, I politely declined their offer and basically said I'll wait/look for a position "close to home" (which I know isn't going to materialise).

I'd "heard" from others that redundancy kicked in at my place if you spent 3 months on the bench (you're supposed to be put "at risk" after 4 weeks at least) but I can't find anything official on the company intranet.