• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

accommadation & Fuel

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

accommadation & Fuel

Good Evening

I have been contracting for 2 years now but all my contracts have had accommadation provided. I have now contracted away with a rotation of 15 days on and 6 off.

I have rented a flat on a day rate. Does this count as a business expense and should i pay it through the business account this will include council tax ?

Can I also pay for fuel for business work out of my business account ?

Thanks in advance

Originally posted by pauljason View Post
    Good Evening

I have been contracting for 2 years now but all my contracts have had accommadation provided. I have now contracted away with a rotation of 15 days on and 6 off.

I have rented a flat on a day rate. Does this count as a business expense and should i pay it through the business account this will include council tax ?

Thanks in advance
    Rent - Yes. Business Expense.

Fuel - you are better off claiming mileage, much easier. 45p/mile for the first 10k miles, 25p thereafter. Having said that beware that there is a 2 year rule which impacts your ability to claim travel expenses if you are travelling to the same place of work for 2 years+

Comment

Good Evening

Thanks in advance
      Do you maintain another permanent address? If so the flat is probably claimable, if not no it isn't.

Comment