• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Buying a 1 bed flat outside europe as a "branch" office

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying a 1 bed flat outside europe as a "branch" office

Hi Gents! I am new to LTD co. so I got a critical question. (my English is not perfect)

I just got my first contract as a consultor “project engineering services” (oil and gas) I will be paying myself £500 per month on salary (plus expenses). I don’t want any more income, so I am planning to increase the value of the company, leaving all the money inside the LTD, until I reach £25k inside the company.
    My idea is to use that money to “invest” on a 1 bed flat in Chile (I am Chilean btw) (I already privately own one in chile that gives me £200 per month) so:
    Will it be better to buy the flat as limited co investment or get the money as a dividend and buy the flat privately?

I understand that my company trade is not “properties”, so:
    1-Can be this flat (in chile) be classified as a branch/office? Of my consultancy company (for services, or potential engineering services abroad)
    2-If yes, due to the fact that my company has an “asset” (it worth more from the bank point of view) will the bank lend the company £25k so I can buy another flat?

Or
    Will it be more convenient to re class the company as a “property investor” and declare the rent from chile (£200 month per flat)?? So, the bank, also will see its profiting, meaning more lending for more flats?

Many thanks

Originally posted by northernladuk
    2/10