• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

contractor rights

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

contractor rights

I'm looking for some advice please as to how best to proceed.

I'm a contractor and have been working with another contractor who has been regularly racially abusive, drawn male and female genitalia at least 100 times across 3 of my notepads and singled me out for non-privileges within the team, i.e. working from home. He has been threatening towards all members of the team and told us all that he would ruin our careers if we stepped out of line or applied for work elsewhere.

He recently instructed me verbally to do a piece of work which I started only to then get abusive later that he had not given the work (I couldn't invent it!)

I've raised a complaint with management and the result of which was I was put under review.

the outcome of the review was that I've been given 1 weeks notice period (with 3 months remaining on the contract).

I'm in utter shock that the business did this based on the fact I had raised the complaint. The other contractors counter claim was that I wasn't meeting targets or performing well. A total and utter fabrication of the truth as I'm the only one to have delivered anything in the last 18 months.

The agency are being very good but their hands are tied. The've advised me to seek legal advice and hold onto all the evidence I can.

The question is - should I bother down this route or just walk away?

As a contractor what are my rights?