• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Controlling UK Ltd from Belgium

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Controlling UK Ltd from Belgium

Hi,

Have been looking on the internet to find a conclusive answer about this, but did not manage to find it. This forum seemed to be most related to my specific situation. Looking to get at least get some pointers on where to look.

To begin, I'm a belgian citizen and resident. I'm also an internet entrepreneur and consultant. Most of my income is semi passive income which is derived from several software products, with the occasional consulting assignment thrown in. All of the income from these products and services comes into a single BVBA/SPRL, of which I am the only director and shareholder.

Now, I'd like to set up a new internet based business. Because of the low capital requirements, I'd like to use a UK ltd company for this. I'll also be moving to the UK later this year or next year. This company would essentially act as a sort of holding company for intellectual property. Royalty payments would be received and paid out to certain parties, in addition to a management fee that'll be paid to my belgian BVBA/SPRL (for the time being).

Many solutions seem to imply that you have to register a belgian branch, but it is my understanding that this is only required if you actually want to pay out salaries to employees/directors. Also, what are the tax implications of this?

Any pointers that could help are greatly appreciated!