• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

WFH for a German client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WFH for a German client

Hi,
    I am new to contracting, and have been offered the chance to contract for a German client but I would be working from home in the UK using the client's laptop.

I am awaiting a contract from the client. I have searched the forum, and I'm confused about VAT, and potential problems in billing the client directly in Pound sterling.

Has anyone ever done a work from home contract with a German client?

Thanks in advance.

re:currency it's simply an issue of getting it in the contract that your rate is £X not €X - any company can easily send payment in any major currency.

re:VAT I don't believe you would be charging them VAT. I am WFH for a Swedish client as a developer and this was the conclusion there. "Place of supply" etc get a bit confusing but I'm sure one of the accountancy people will answer this 2mrw and clarify.

Out of interest, how did you find such a cushy gig? What kind of work?
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Comment

Cross border transactions are not subject to VAT as long as they give you a valid VAT number.

Which you can check here: VIES

You really want to make sure that your client bills you in £, the Euro isn't looking too good at the moment and that could mean a lot less in your pocket.

Comment