• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie - how much should I pay myself after redundancy payout

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - how much should I pay myself after redundancy payout

Hi,

I'm a newbie who's considering going contracting with a LTD Co. or using an Umbrella (for ease).

I have recently been made redundant which has instantly taken me over the 40% tax threshold (first time ever - always been just under).

If I go the LTD route, what is the most tax efficient way to pay myself (if at all - maybe just leave the money in the company?). How much should I pay myself bearing in mind I'm now in the higher tax bracket. I also want to ensure I'm paying NI contributions to keep my pension topped up - so I assume I will have to pay myself something to enable this.

Thanks for your advice.

Originally posted by Derben View Post
    Hi,

I'm a newbie who's considering going contracting with a LTD Co. or using an Umbrella (for ease).

I have recently been made redundant which has instantly taken me over the 40% tax threshold (first time ever - always been just under).

If I go the LTD route, what is the most tax efficient way to pay myself (if at all - maybe just leave the money in the company?). How much should I pay myself bearing in mind I'm now in the higher tax bracket. I also want to ensure I'm paying NI contributions to keep my pension topped up - so I assume I will have to pay myself something to enable this.

Thanks for your advice.