• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accountant made a errors

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accountant made a errors

Hi all,

I am having a problem and a friend of mine recommended asking for some advice on here.

I have been contracting for 4 years now and use account services by Brookson. They cost around £130 a month minus vat and for the last few years have been fine.

At the start of 2012 I suddenly found myself being called by my bank as my Business account has gone overdrawn.. So I logged in immediately to find my corp tax and QT VAT bill had gone out which left me several thousand in the red. I thought it had to be a mistake as I only take out what they tell me to do so via payslips.

After an investigation it became apparent that they had not accounted for a company car lease that had been running for 14 months even thou I had been submitting them on a claims form which is returned monthly. This form also includes my mileage which they had been calculating my mileage at normal rates rather than the 18p per mile they should have.

So after this review with a few other expenses not claimed along the way I was down £4,534

I have reduced this to just shy of £1000 in the red and by the end of Jan this will be clear by reducing dividends.

Where do I stand with regards to seeking compensation from them? I am not after blood nor the full amount, but a gesture of around 50% would be nice