• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Leave consultant company an join client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leave consultant company an join client

Hi,

I am working for a client through a consultancy as follows:

(a) client - - (b) agency - - (c) consultant company

I'm a contractor from the client prospective and when they became aware that I came thought a consultant company they suggested me to skip the consultant company and join them directly through (b).

I'm wondering whether you think this is (i) ethical (ii) legal? From the legal prospective I have a clause in my contract that I cannot join their clients for 12 months, but in this case there is no direct relationship between (a) and (c).

Thanks a lot.

Originally posted by jamborta View Post
    I'm wondering whether you think this is (i) ethical (ii) legal? From the legal prospective I have a clause in my contract that I cannot join their clients for 12 months, but in this case there is no direct relationship between (a) and (c).
    Similar questions to this come up quite a bit. A restraint of trade of 12 months is considered excessive and probably not enforceable.

Understand the opt out and if it applies to you. If you didn't properly opt out then they can't touch you though they may make bluff and bluster threats.

For some background reading, do these forum searches using Google:

site:forums.contractoruk.com restraint of trade
    site:forums.contractoruk.com restrictive covenant