• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Greetings from an Oracle chap

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from an Oracle chap

Hi all,

A quick thanks to all on here who've posted, found some really great advice.

Now to a question that I couldn't find anybody asking...

Do you notice that there are particular times of year when contracts seem to be more readily available?

I guess the answer may be dependant on my role etc, so I'll post some background info below:

I'm an Oracle DBA (14yrs) with the general RMAN, Dataguard, basic admin on Windows, Unix, VMWARE type stuff. Also have 10gAS, e-business (only up to 11.5.10) and a very recent Weblogic install (hoping to do a lot more over the next few months).

I've been a permie for 10 yrs, bit of contracting before that.

Currently based in North America, and looking to move back to the UK in the next 18 months (just trying to decide if there's a better time of year to arrive and start looking for work...). Happy to contract anywhere in the UK.

Thanks for any advice

Actually - one more thing, I'm thinking 350/day is achievable - any comments?

Originally posted by roobydoobs View Post
    Now to a question that I couldn't find anybody asking...

Do you notice that there are particular times of year when contracts seem to be more readily available?
    You are kidding right? Pretty regular question this one.