• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Resignation - Not giving 'adequate' notice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi,

I’ve been contracting for a client for 5 years (on and off) and have always worked to the end of my contract prior to commencing new roles. The client has also waited for me to end contracts prior to going back to them.

However, the time has come for me to leave and I don’t really want to be there any more and want a new start.
    I have 8 weeks left on my existing contract and I have been made an offer to work elsewhere on the basis that I can start within the next 2 weeks ……but I have a 4 week notice period written into my contract.

The new client will not wait 4 weeks and I’m not sure how to hand in my notice without it impacting my references and/or my relationship with my existing client.

The client does not deal well with staff handing in their notice (permanent and contract) and always refuse to let people go early, even if they are not working on business critical projects, hence, large number of staff reduce their notice period by lying to them so that they can be released early (stories of deaths in the family, being ill, family issues etc).

I don’t want to be dishonest and make up an excuse to leave but I do see it as fair for me to leave as I have ensured that I have transferred all my knowledge to other members of the team hence, there are no key man dependencies.