• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Overseas Contract Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overseas Contract Question

Hi,
    I am relatively new to the contract side of things as have been permanent all my working career. I have a query about a new position that I may be taking and want to ensure moving to a contract is safe.

The company in question is in Canada and they are very large in my sector. They have shown they wish to employ me, but as they do not have an official office in the UK yet, they would have to put me on a contract; even though I am permanent staff. If there was an office in the UK then they could legally fully employ me.

Does anybody have any knowledge no this or is it treated as being on a normal contact? I am a little dubious as I have heard horror stories at the way in which US, and Canada hire fire people at will.

Is there some information on the web that would help.

Thanks
    Jason

Originally posted by JasonB View Post
    Hi,
    I am relatively new to the contract side of things as have been permanent all my working career. I have a query about a new position that I may be taking and want to ensure moving to a contract is safe.

The company in question is in Canada and they are very large in my sector. They have shown they wish to employ me, but as they do not have an official office in the UK yet, they would have to put me on a contract; even though I am permanent staff. If there was an office in the UK then they could legally fully employ me.