• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractors that don't work 5 day weeks...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am a permy dev.

I have had some changes in my personal life which means I would like to work 3 or 4 days a week. My current work are not interested in reducing my hours or giving me flexibility (eg to work longer days 4 days a week)

Have any of you contractor's been able to increase the flexibility of the days you work, or reduced the number of days per week you are available for?

I am cognisant of the fact that new contractors coming from permy are somewhat unliked and that the flexibility would reduce the pool of clients that would be willing to look at me, but I would be interested if anyone has made it work.

It depends on your Level of expertise.. or i should say the level at which you work at the Comp. If you are working as a support engineer .. the the answer is NO NO as a contractor . If you are working as a project manager then - you should be able to work 4 days and the 5th from home.

Comment

WFH is a common option, not guaranteed though but guess that isn't what he is asking.

In the current market the chance of you getting a gig anywhere near home for less than 5 days is super slim to absolutely nil. The fact you are a new contractor in itself means getting a proper gig is going to be very difficult without your constraints.

Without any more detail we are just guessing but I would say not a hope.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment