• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hello & 'junior' positions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello & 'junior' positions

New here and probably not too an unusual story overall.

I've been considering doing contracting for many years, but now is the first point I'm seriously trying to get positions through agencies.
    I've got a good many years experience as a software tester, but just recently I've been doing some LAMP/WAMP stuff and quite enjoying it, so I'd like to continue with this avenue if possible.
    I have had a few contracts recently which I've got through word of mouth.

I've had what I considered good interest for some php positions, but nothing more than that.
    Is this just to be expected, or anything else I can do?

I've had agents get back to me and spend a chunk of time on the phone after I've applied on jobserve etc. Have been told my CV would be passed on.
    However, so far not had anything more than that, good or bad.

Is this par for the course, or am I doing something wrong?

I've generally been going for positions listed as 'junior', which has been discussed with the agents generally - appreciating that while I've got lots of general experience, more limited as an actual coder.

Any thoughts?

Going to update my tester CV and try applying for a few positions in that area too.