• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Witheld Expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Witheld Expenses

Hello All,

I am new poster here so here goes my first query!

I am a UK Contractor working in engineering through a UK Agency for a UK Client. I am set up as a Ltd Company and charge a day rate, upon which they add their fee and invoice the Client. I invoice the Agency and get paid.

I have been on a long term contract submitting separate invoices for time sheets and expenses. I inquired on the first day who signed these and my boss said he did. All was going well until recently when it emerged that my boss did not have the authority to sign off the expenses part of my invoice.

Subsequently they have refused to pay the expenses to the Agency and the Agency have now removed the amount in question (which is several thousand pounds!), from my latest invoice. I have been through the Agencies T&C's and cannot find any clause that allows them to do this. The deduction was also done without consulting me and also there is no breakdown as to what invoices, etc, these deductions relate to! Basically a right mess!!

So my questions are:

1) Can they deduct/withhold the expense payments?

2) Should they have give me written notice prior to doing so?

3) If they will not reimburse me until they sort it with their Client, what is the best course of action?

4) Are there any previous examples of this issue I can refer to to help my case?