• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New analyst role

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New analyst role

Hi,
    I was wondering if I could have some advice on starting out on contracting.
    I’ve been working for a NHS trust for 3 years as a permanent staff and have recently handed in my notice. The trust wants to keep me and I’ve told them I can come back as a contractor doing exactly the same thing.
    If I’m going to work in the same role as before, would that class me to be in ‘relevant engagements’ part of the IR35? Which probably means I should go via an umbrella company?
    As this would be my first experience as a contractor, is it better for me and the trust to go through an agency rather than a direct contract? I’ve heard the agency can invoice the client but how much roughly would this eat into my earnings? 5%
    Is there anything else I should be aware of?
    Thanks

New analyst role

You need to at least double your rate get to back what you lose by not being permie.

Comment

If you are going to do it leave and do it properly and go get a proper contract IMO. By going back to your old client you have no benefits or security and when you do get binned you are going to be in the big wide world with no warchest, no clue what to do and no idea what contract is really about.