• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Contract - IR35 and enforced lunch

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Contract - IR35 and enforced lunch

So, I'm just going through the process to secure my first contract - I completely accept I'm a newbie, know jack all but I have tried looking. And, yes, QDOS will be reviewing my contract.

Except I haven't quite got that yet, but they have today sent me a whole raft of e-mails. I've pottered through the "Employee Screening" which, while irritating appears to be standard from what I've found and now I'm trawling through the docs they've sent me. Most of them are instructions for the Timesheet system and a bunch of info about the client which is fine.

Anyway, I found this little nugget in part of the instructions:

1 standard working day is 7.5 hours (excluding breaks). If your manager asks you to work overtime, you need to let us know immediately. Without authorisation, you will not be paid for over 7.5 hours’ work. Please also note that your lunch hour is compulsory and unpaid.
    Which makes me a little uncomfortable - not the first bit, but the bit about compulsory lunch. I just wondered if this was normal, should I be worried from an IR35 perspective etc? This appears to be an agency clause, rather than a client cause.

Then there's this bit in their "How to behave on site" docs:

Efficient timekeeping in respect of arriving for work and adherence to lunch and break times is of vital importance to ensuring client Service Level Agreements are achieved.