• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Terminated

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Terminated

Quick question.
    I have been contracting (as a limited company) for over 2 years with a multi-national company.
    I went to the doctor on Friday and he signed me off for 2weeks, I informed HR the same day. Today 'Tuesday' my agent calls me and says my contract has been terminated due to health/cost cutting reasons??? (no previous history)... Is this legal under AWR?
    Thanks.

What does your contract say they can do?

Comment

why did you have to inform HR? You are not an employee?
      This default font is sooooooooooooo boring and so are short usernames

Comment

Unless your condition means you are unconscious being signed off doesn't mean you can't work from home.
        "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Well the definition of a Temp Agency Worker is defined as...

emporary agency worker

A PAYE temporary worker whether employed by the supplying agency under a contract of employment or engaged as a worker under a contract for services
          A PAYE temporary worker supplied via an umbrella limited company either directly or through an agency
          A worker who is genuinely in business on their own account, (i.e. a genuinely self employed one person limited company contractor) is outside the scope of the regulations
          Note 3 kinda blows it all out of the water.
          'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment