• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividend Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividend Question

Newbie here.

I'm looking to pay myself a dividend, but want to keep some back for any tax charges. How much do you get taxed on dividends?

(Sound of repeated dull thudding of Malvolio's head against nearest brick wall)
    We must strike at the lies that have spread like disease through our minds

Comment

You can't keep it back, it's your personal tax not your company's. Make very sure you keep the distinction between your money and your company money clear in your mind at all times - they are totally different legal entities.

Until your net pay and dividends crosses the upper tax band (roughly £37k pa), divis are effectively tax free - to be precise the tax has been paid by YouCo's Corporation Tax and you don't get taxed twice. Once you go over the upper limit, it's 40%.

The balance point varies according to how you pay yourself, but a good rule of thumb is to assume 25% of all divis are going to the taxman (now wait for the mathemeticians to come and cloud the issue...)
      Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Thanks Molvolio,

Great Stuff

Comment

Basically, the amount you have to retain in the company is to pay your corporation tax bill on the dividends plus any other profit your company has made. Dividends are taken from profit, whereas salary, NI, PAYE, some business expenses, accountancy fees etc and some capital items are taken from gross income.