• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Duplicate fuel receipt

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Duplicate fuel receipt

Ok so im fairly new to self employment and my employer told me 'when getting a fuel VAT receipt, ask for a duplicate' i hand one into work and keep the other for my tax benefits but the petrol station attendant refused to give me the second copy. is she wrong?... or should petrol stations not be giving out duplicates. Thanks.

Originally posted by Micky View Post
    Ok so im fairly new to self employment and my employer told me 'when getting a fuel VAT receipt, ask for a duplicate' i hand one into work and keep the other for my tax benefits but the petrol station attendant refused to give me the second copy. is she wrong?... or should petrol stations not be giving out duplicates. Thanks.
    "Self-employment"? "Employer"?

Fresh Meat, guys, Fresh Meat....!

Comment

Originally posted by Micky View Post
      1. If you are self-employed the fuel receipt is for you for your own tax purposes.
      2. If you are self-employed you don't have an employer as you and the organisation you work for are the same entity.
      3. If you are a contractor you are not self-employed - you are either an employee of a small closed company, which you may also be the director of, or an employee of an umbrella company.

Now rethink what you wrote and try again.
      "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
        "Self-employment"? "Employer"?