Request for help from documentary filmmaker: self-employment Request for help from documentary filmmaker: self-employment
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 22

Nervous Newbie

Default Request for help from documentary filmmaker: self-employment

I’m a journalist working on a TV documentary about the changing world of work in the UK. I’m hoping to speak to people who have become self-employed in recent years to ask them about what their experiences have been. I’m particularly interested in talking to people who feel that they had little option but to become self-employed, people who were recently unemployed, and people concerned about their pay and conditions as a self-employed worker.

I’m also interested in talking to people involved in agency work and other irregular work to find out about your pay and conditions.

I'd hope initially to have a confidential conservation with you over the phone, with a view to finding someone that we can film with as part of the programme. There is no obligation for you to take part in the programme once you’ve spoken with us, but it would be an opportunity to aid our research and for us to tell you a bit more about the film.

If you’d like to talk to me, in confidence, you can contact me on hannah@firecrestfilms.com and on 07845 348 157.

Fingers like lightning

I think you're asking the wrong people here love.

Contractor Among Contractors

Dont like the slant on that - go to Mumsnet.

bored now

Quote Originally Posted by Dallas View Post
    Happy with the slant on it (I believe there are a lot of people in that position) but I don't think there are many people here that meet that criteria and who will be able to help you.

As an aside this is one reason why I disliked the IPSE rebranding. They argue that they will represent all self employed professionals, I believe there are many who don't want to be self employed and they would be better support and represented by a union such as the GMB instead...