• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Finance Company Dress Code...in Asia

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Finance Company Dress Code...in Asia

Chaps

Yes, I'm a contractor so there is no dress code, but listen:

I've got a role for a finance company in Canary Wharf in London, I work there 2 weeks and then I go to Singapore and work in their office for 2 months, return to the UK and repeat.
    I've not worked in a finance environment before and I normally just wear jeans, T-shirt and non-fancy shoes (youngish IT person here). For the UK, I'm hoping this wouldn't raise eyebrows among the sharp suits.

However, when I go to Singapore, will I get flak for dressing like that? Anyone got experience working in a financial client's office in Asia? Again, strictly speaking as an independent contractor I can wear what I want but finance companies have got a degree of cash behind them where they can play by their own rules if someone appears to be bringing the place down, I don't fancy being told to get out the office on the other side of the planet - and the work culture in Asia is much more rigid to that of the UK too.

I guess I really should just wear smart in each office at first at least and maybe tone it down from there but if anyone could provide a concrete answer and save me packing clothes needlessly I'd love to know.

Dress to impress

I always dress at my best for first few days, then I know how much I can relax my atire. Its always better to look better than to look sloppy.

Comment