• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving to UK from New Zealand to contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving to UK from New Zealand to contract

I'm moving to the UK later on in the year - August/September. I am a British Citizen so have full working rights.

I'm interested in hearing from anyone who has moved from abroad to contract and what their experiences were like. Also, interested to get some feedback on the daily rate I should expect to get.

I've been in IT for 17 years and have years of experience with design and implementation of:

Citrix XenApp 4 - 7.6
    Citrix NetScaler 10
    Windows 2000-2012 server
    Active Directory
    VMware ESX 3 -6
    Exchange 5.5 - 2013
    Lync 2010-2013
    Enterprise Vault 10 - 11
    Office 365
    Netbackup & Backup Exec

I've checked JobServe but there is such a variance in rate I've seen ads for relevant skills go from 250 - 550

Thanks 😀

Originally posted by Pgtips View Post
    I'm interested in hearing from anyone who has moved from abroad to contract and what their experiences were like.
    About 90% of the work is in London.
    About 90% of your post-tax income will go in rent.

NZ is a much nicer place.
    nomadd liked this post

Comment

Originally posted by nomadd View Post
      NZ is a much nicer place.
      Yes, the sheep are better looking.

But there's a lot of similarities - NZ's best rugby players are South Sea Islanders too.
      …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment